How to enable ‘Waiting Room’ for 12 Step Meetings on Zoom

The ‘Waiting Room’ feature adds a layer of extra security to a meeting. Each meeting should make a decision on whether to enable ‘Waiting Room’, and whether it should be for participants attending from a device and/or phoning in. To enable or disable this feature:

1. Go to www.zoom.us

2. On the top right corner of the page, click ‘Sign in’

3. Type in your email address and password for the account, and click ‘Sign in’

4. On the left of the page, under the heading ‘personal’, click on the 5th subheading: ‘Settings’

5. The word ‘Meetings’ will appear in bright blue up at the top of the page.

The first heading on this page is the ‘Security’ heading, and the first item in this list is ‘Waiting Room’. This means that when participants join a meeting, they are placed in a waiting room, which requires the host to admit them individually. To enable this feature, click so the button is blue.

If you choose to enable ‘Waiting Room’, we recommend that beneath, ‘Waiting Room Options’ reads: ‘Everyone will go in the waiting room’. (To amend this, click on the blue ‘Edit Options’ text and a window will come up where you can select the option you prefer).

Scroll down around 9 items to find Meeting Authentication Options’. Here you’ll find ‘If Waiting Room is enabled, phone-only users will be placed in the Waiting Room. If Waiting Room is not enabled, phone dial-in only users will be allowed / blocked from joining the meeting’. Click on whichever option you prefer so the circle beside it is outlined in blue.

Here are the full details of the Zoom settings we’ve decided on at CoDA Ireland intergroup to maximise security, anonymity & accessibility as per guidance from other 12-step programmes, and our own experience with online meetings to date.